top of page
  • Writer's pictureRebecca Mashburn (Gordon)

Letting Go of The Small Things

Matthew 16:25 " If you try to hang on to your life, you will lose it. But if you give up your life for my sake, you will save it. "

When I look at this picture, the stream seems like it might be bigger than it actually is. But in reality, this was a very small creek from where I was hiking that day. I could put little rocks or leaves down the mini waterfall. But if I try to put a huge rock down the waterfall, the rock would most likely get stuck.

So your question may be this, "why did I use the bible verse above?" "what does it mean?"


I am sure some of you already know what it means to lose your life to Jesus. But what about the little details we tend to hold onto?

I was thinking about this this past weekend and I thought, "wow. I still have not given all of my life to Jesus."

I have given my heart and laid down all expectation of my life to God. But in my mind, I do not think I truly trust God with EVERYTHING in my life.


In each level of a video game, you have to battle one area and win that area in order to move onto the next. So for example, I spoke in front of a thousand women in a foreign country. I was sooo scared. But I battled that level and won. I gave that anxiety and fear over to God.


When trust has been broken over and over, it becomes difficult to let people, (even yourself), into those places in your heart.

If you want to keep that broken trust in your life, then that is your choice. But when it comes a day where you confront one of those broken trust situations, you won't know what to do. At least, that is what has happened to me.


SERIOUSLY...Let go of that broken trust, pain, or heartache. You cannot keep holding onto what is eventually going to tear you down.

God is here to take ALL burdens and pains.

Give God ALL your little details of your life.

I promise, He will take care of ALL of them.

Hebrews 10:23 " So now we must cling tightly to the hope that lives within us, knowing that God always keeps his promises! "

255 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

bottom of page